Phys(ics)Geek

"I'm writing this because I'm a sad, lonely, unlucky, jealous specimen with a little bit of insight."
02.14.04 - 10:22 PM

Ahh... Valentine's Day.

They say it's kitsch...

They say it's just another commercial holiday invented by Hallmark...

They say it's stupid...

I say they're fools.

Love may be an ambiguous thing, I'll admit that...

But people who've never been in love, who've never been the conferrer of an unrequited love, people who have never seen the look of another's face first thing in the morning and thought to themselves "Wow, could she [or he] possibly be more beautiful?" (despite the probable questionability of the beauty of their love in the eyes of the rest of the world)...

...it is they who promote the vituperation of Valentine's Day.

But these unlucky souls will one day realize something... They'll wake up one day, shake off the stupor that is their "coscienza di amore", and think: "Valentine's Day... so THAT'S what it's all about."

Yes my friends, they realize that Valentine's Day doesn't exist to increase the sales of jewelry stores, Hallmark, Godiva, or even Halliburton.

Valentine's Day isn't about little candy hearts with sayings on them, or chocolate shaped cherubs, or red lacy cards.

Valentine's Day is about telling someone you care.

Valentine's Day exists to give impassive gentlemen callers a reason to tell their darling just how often he thinks of them.

Valentine's Day exists let you say to the world:

"Behold, my heart pines for her [or him] alone, and all ye that stand in the way of my inamorato and I shall face a wrath unknown to both heaven and earth."

How can you not love Valentine's Day?

Even if you're alone in your room moping about, saying to yourself: "Damn, I wish I had somebody to give a Valentine to...", you have to withhold your contempt for all things related to love for just one day...

Trust me... I know... I'm sitting alone in my room moping about, saying to myself: "Damn, I wish I had somebody to give a Valentine to...", and honestly... I couldn't possibly be more jealous of those out there that do have someone to give a Valentine to... because those people are lucky.

So you've got to have respect for Valentine's Day...

Because one of these days you might be lucky enough to wake up next to the most beautiful woman [or man] (I'm keeping this general, friends) in the world, and you'll realize that that person is the one that is actually in control of your heart, despite all of your feeble attempts at hindrance.

And if you are already there, I'll just say this...

"YOU'RE ONE LUCKY SONUVABITCH AND YOU BETTER NOT F*** IT UP YOU DOPE!!!"

And on that note, I'll leave you be...

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host