Phys(ics)Geek

"I'll be you're favourite lunatic."
04.11.04 - 9:44 PM

The things about me I like:

� I'm smart. What I mean by that is generally I'm considered an intelligent man by those I meet and those I know. I'm well read, a good logician, and I know how to take the square root of rational numbers in my head.

� I'm funny. I use humor to endear me when I meet new people. I'm generally able to make people laugh without trying all that hard, and I am a master of the nonsequiteur (though, that's something pretty easy to master).

� I'm charming. Maybe this relates to the funny thing, but it's more than that. I'm a little flirty and like to make pretty girls smile. It's a great way to pass the time.

� I'm well-rounded. Though typically I'm easily described as "just another physics geek" or "math dork", I'm also keen of social and political issues, interested in other fields of endeavor, and for the most part willing to have a debate on nearly any topic under the sun.

Now... some things I don't like:

� I'm smart. This intimidates people. I get labeled as smug and arrogant, when actually I'm just a pedant. I like, no, I crave order and empiricism.

� I'm funny. The problem comes in when I'm too funny. I get labeled as someone that's nonsensical and a smartass. In reality, I use humor to get my foot in the door, but I get carried away and never let people know who I really am, and when I don't use humor and try to impress them with my regular, intelligent self, I come accross as a know-it-all.

� I'm ugly. This contrasts the charming side of me. Nothing I can really do about this, so I don't let it bother me too much. Sometimes I feel like Quasimodo, topped off with the brain of Richard Feynman and the heart of Wordsworth or Keats.

� I'm stubborn. Though my opinions are well thought out and based on logical arguments, it's my logic not anyone else's. I tend to have great difficulty explaining my logic to some because no matter how hard I try, my path of thought relies on certain given conditions and most don't have these. This leads, along with my pedancy, to much trouble in explaining problems, solutions, and opinions to certain people.

� I'm well-rounded. Again, this leads to the opinion that I'm arrogant, because I seem to think I know everything. I can't help but laugh when someone calls me a know-it-all just because of the things I say or the opinions I represent. I'm not a know-it-all. My very nature as a scientist is to ask questions, to gain valuable knowledge. I seek to "know it all", and therefore know that I don't "know it all".

I just wish people understood me... That's all.

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host