Phys(ics)Geek

"The Canonical QCD Hamiltonian confuses me..."
10.15.04 - 10:36 PM

Worked on my research some tonight... This has made me realize how stupid I really am, but how capable I am...

When I sat down tonight I knew what my research was about, but I had no idea about what path I'd have to take to do it, nor what it meant to the hep community at large... however, now that I've sat down, read some more journal articles, and did a (tiny) bit of math, I'm able to clearly say what it is I'll be doing and I even know what it's going to take.

For those of you interested, I'll be developing a set of tools for the renormalization of scalar field theories, starting with a toy theory known as Φ3-theory in 6 (5+1) Dimensions... which I'll then generalize up to full Quantum Chromodynamics. The hard part is going to be coming up with a way to renormalize Φ3, and once I have that done it will be rather easy to throw in the terms for QCD.

Also, and this is important. I'm now able to answer the question of "Why?"

Why is this important?

Because no one has done this. Yes, people have renormalized the QCD Hamiltonian (I think?) but no one has done it this way... and the real result of this is a bunch of code that will go along with Dr. Robertson's Glueball research.

So... I'm doing fundamental work, that some other researcher would need to do someday were it not for me... :-)

Sw33t!

Feeling: Excited
Listening To: Stretch Princess - Time and Time Again

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host