Phys(ics)Geek

"Pencils."
10.18.04 - 10:45 PM

Pencils are a fairly important part of my life. (Today's blog inspired by Piro...)

I do a lot of math... and you just can't solve partial differential equations day in and day out with a Bic pen...

Perhaps it's because I'm a freak... but I only do my best when I have the right kind of pencil, and a good eraser to go with it.

So here, for you, dear reader... I present my criteria for a "mojo pencil" (as all exam/homework/research grade pencils are classified)...

� It must be machined from high quality metal of some form, and preferably have some weight to it... this is because oftentimes in anger/frustration I'll throw my pencil... and if I'm angry enough to throw my pencil, I want it to do damage.

� It must have a very comfortable grip, preferably made of rubber, and under no circumstances may it be the knurled metal that all draftspeople abhor, yet mysteriously appear on all lead holders.

� The top eraser quality is irrelevant, as for any real work I always have a large, external one of some sort (more on this later), though it is necessary for have a top eraser for those moments when you accidentally write h and you meant to write h-bar.

� It should be able to hold a lot of lead, at least ten sticks. Those crummy plastic Bic pencils only hold three pieces... I go through that in a week to a week and a half... I don't like to continually have to refill my pencils...

The Ultimate Pencil: Staedtler Integrity 0.5mm (Don't know if they still make them though, I bought twelve of these bad boys when I left Staples... cost me close to $75 too...)

Nearly Ultimate Pencil: Pilot Q7 0.5mm (my one qualm: too light... lack of a metal barrel.)

Lastly, erasers... there are only two acceptable erasers in my opinion (I'm only doing math... keep that in mind)...

Either Staedtler Mars Plastic, or Pentel ClicStic... those are the only ones that suffice. I prefer the Staedtler, but the ClicStic fits in the little pen slots on my backpack... so I use them when I'm at school... at home, I have four worn Staedtlers that I'd be lost without.

Well... I hope reading this was as amusing as it was writing it...

Oh... and while I'm on the subject of math... I don't know how everyone can do math with that crappy lined notebook paper... it's so constraining... and flimsy... I use 3HP Inkjet Paper for doing math... and I only use one side of the paper... Okay... now I'm just rambling...

And I think it offered some unique insight into how werid I am, don't you think?

Feeling: Good
Listening To: None

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host