Phys(ics)Geek

"Big Pimpin'"
03.03.04 - 7:27 PM

Too much stuff to do.

I have to finish my research paper...

And coincidentally, if anyone is interested and you are located in the Columbus, OH area, I'll be giving a talk entitled:

"Introduction to the Theory of Superstrings"

Date: Wednesday, March 10th, 2004
Time: 3:30 PM to 4:30 PM
Location: Otterbein College, McFadden-Schear Sceince Building, Westerville, OH. Room 256

Refreshments will be provided by the Physics Department. (For directions, please contact the Otterbein College Department of Physics and Astronomy at 614.823.1222)

I'll be discussing the five weak-coupling perturbation theory consistent 'string' theories, and introducing the quantum field theory of superstrings as related to guage grouping, supersymmentry, perturbation theory, D-branes and higher order bodies, and, in general: the unified theory of physics, or 'theory of everything'.

The talk, while it will be scientific in nature and rather extensive, should be accessible to most everyone in terms of content, and I promise, you won't just be staring at equations like you do in many physics talks...

Basically... if you've ever wondered what the hubbub is about "string theory" or the "grand unified theory" or the so called "theory of everything"... this is the lecture for you, as it's sort of an introductory talk that is to be understandable by nonscientists, while still in-depth enough to hold such a lecture.

I'll even make mention of 11-Dimensional Supergravity!!!

Heh.

I know... I'm pimping my upcoming lecture... but deal with it.

This is my diary after all.

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host