Phys(ics)Geek

"You see late in the evening... fucked up on my computer and my mind starts roaming..."
03.22.04 - 9:59 PM

I need a pill to ease the pain of all the stupid things I do...

Yep...

So I went to the lab today... ended up breaking a computer... then fixing it... then breaking it again. In short, don't ask.

Did some work... what I consider actual physics work, rather than this setup and calibration stuff I've been doing lately.

Why was it actual physics?

Oh, there was a second-order nonhomogenous differential equation I needed to solve...

Cake... took maybe ten minutes to code and debug the program to solve it and it took the computer maybe 5 nanoseconds (literally... it's a damned supercluster for chrissakes) to spit out the values I needed.

Of course... after that it was basically more calibration.

But I suppose this is the life of an undergraduate physics laboratory tech.

But yeah... I spent four hours doing stuff and it seemed like maybe half an hour...

I came in at noon, and at what I thought was 12:30 by my clearly inaccurate mental timepiece, but when I looked at the clock it was 3:45 and I had to go soon...

Hmm... maybe it took more than ten minutes to code my program after all?

Anywho...

Today was okay, rather dull after I got back from the lab... not much going on here...

I did buy my books today... let me show you something:

My expensive real analysis book...

This is my Real Analysis book (you can think of real analysis as "�ber-advanced calculus")...

It's 244 pages long...

Here it is in comparison with my Advanced Analytic Geometry textbook...

My expensive real analysis book...

The geometry book only cost me $80... new. Over a thousand pages of math goodness for $80.

But my itsy bitsy real analysis book? No... not that cheap.

Not at all.

That book cost me $163.50... USED!!!

I about shit myself in the bookstore when I saw the price...

That's $0.69 a page!!!

My word!

I swear... these goddamn bookstores must be owned by the mob or something... and the publisher of the geometry book gave them more of a kick-back or something to make it cheaper.

Of course... that was a year ago... maybe this is all just a result of rapid inflation caused by the horrible economy...

But we'll take care of that when Comrade... err... Senator Kerry gets elected won't we?

Yeah... anyway...

I realized today that my name is probably on one of the lists that the NSA keeps... yeah... you know what list I'm on... yup...

Hey... maybe one day a suit at Fort Meade will finally realize that besides my kickass prowess with a keyboard (and I don't mean the musical instrument), and my amazing ability to remember numbers... I can also do complex mathematics faster than a Pentium II as well as handle a Glock pretty well.

PHYSMAN... international man of mojo... err... espionage... err... mystery.

Yep.

Wow this entry is weird... and I probably divulged too much information... I guess I'll have to kill you now. Please, press CTRL-ALT-ESC-B-7-Insert-Backspace-Delete-PgDn and your area code... then bash your head repeatedly against a blunt object...

Bwahaha... don't you love it when I spew nonsense?

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host