Phys(ics)Geek

"I am yours... and you are mine."
05.16.04 - 11:16 PM

I hate being sad all the time...

I had this weird dream last night. It started off with me being drafted. (This war stuff is getting to me.) Anyway, I was drafted into the Marines and I was told I would be shipping out in a week. (It turned out that the quarter was ending in a week.)

So I finished the quarter and the night before I left I sent out a mass email to all my friends saying that I was being shipped to basic training and then off to Iraq for a one year tour of duty.

Everybody freaked out, but the next morning I woke up and there was a phone message from "M" (some of you don't know who this is, but let's just say it's a girl that broke my heart a long long time ago... I now hate her... well... okay... I don't hate her... but... argh... it's complicated). Anyway...

"M" called me and said she needed to see me before I left. So I go and pack and I go over to her house on my way to drive to Arkansas (why? I guess that's where the base was...). She sees my car and comes running out of her house crying, and I get out of the car and she hugs me and confesses that she's in love with me, and that all the strange stuff we've went through was just her trying to get me to tell her I love her.

Anyway... I can't help it... but I tell her I love her. (I wouldn't do that in real life... I don't know what I'd do in real life but I don't think I'd tell her I loved her)

And she calms down and says as soon as I get back I'm to come be with her and be happy again... and she emphasized "when I get back..."

So cut to the chase... I get shot in Iraq.

Yeah... some Iraqi Insurgent busted a cap in my ass... literally... my ass. But swish-boom-bah I just landed back in Cal-i-for-ni-a and I'm walking with a limp... and it's been a year since I've seen/talked-to/communicated-with anyone back home...

And I'm getting off the plane counting out change trying to come up with $37 to call back home, and I'm counting change when I look up and see M with her van waiting to drive me home.

So... I run up to her and hug, hug, hug, she's crying, I'm saying I love her, sappy-sappy-I'm-home-baby time ends and we get in the car and to drive back to Ohio...

And we're driving and by now it's dark... and she's like:

"Kel, I've got something to tell you."

"What?"

"You're going to be mad."

"What is it?"

"I've got a boyfriend..."

Oy-vey.

So I just sit there and for some reason it seems like we made it all the way to Illinois in silence... and I finally say...

"I'm not surprised."

She pulls over to buy gas, and I get out and say "Thanks for picking me up..." and I open the sliding door and grab my big army duffel thing and sling it over my shoulder and say "... but I think it's time you get back to Mr. Wonderful, and I probably shouldn't be there when you do."

And she starts crying...

And I wake up.

Weird ass dream.

I hope I don't get drafted... although I know I'd probably go...

I don't know if I'd email M or not though...

Oy...

I'm tired.

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host