Phys(ics)Geek

"The same black line that's drawn on you, is drawn on me... and it's drawn me in."
05.17.04 - 10:32 PM

Well... I don't have much to write about today... I spent the day doing geodesics problems for my general relativity class. I'll tell you... I am showing a marked improvement in my method of solving problems...

For instance, geodesics require typically derivating with respect to an imaginary variable, sigma, a huge funky equation... for instance...

Now... when faced with taking the derivative of that (actually, we first perform a change of variables from sigma to tau), it's a pretty narly calculation. At the beginning of the year, I would've went straight to Mathematica or Maple to do it... but now I first perform my own calculation and THEN go to the computer...

Anyway... I find that interesting... I'm becoming a real physicist...

"The phone books are here! The phone books are here!"

Yeah... anyway...

I got my schedule all set for next quarter...

Physics 430: Advanced Quantum Mechanics I
Physics 420: Advanced Experimental Physics II
Math 300: Problem Solving Seminar
Math 340: Advanced Geometry
English 300: The Dilemma of Existence
Honors 305: Junior Seminar

That's my schedule...

Tough fall quarter... plus I'm going to be trying to throw together my third research thesis... hoping to get something published again... Maybe I'll be able to pull it together over the summer so that come November I'm not freaking out.

Anyway... that's it for me...

(Hey... look yo... Kellen didn't spew on and on about the pervading sadness of his life? Is he getting happy? No. He's just developing a clever fa�ade.)

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host