Phys(ics)Geek

"But all of the horses, that you chase around... in the end they are the ones... that always bring you down."
05.20.04 - 10:10 PM

I'm going to write one entry tonight... and if people don't like it, so be it. You do not have to type this URL into the address bar...

I'm tired of getting advice from people. I mean seriously, I've gotten this far on my own, so clearly there is SOMETHING about my modus operandi that works, and works rather well, I might add.

I spent four and a half hours today solving a second-order set of coupled differential equations which involved a the sine of a polynomial being multiplied by the cosine of a different polynomial... and I didn't even do it numerically (though I believe I'll code a Runge-Kutta approximation for it for practice sometime tonight).

I enjoy being able to do things like that... after all, it's not always that something that interestin comes along in the course of a problem set...

And, although I found out later that the preferred method of attacking the problem was strenuous use of trigonometric identities, the simple fact that I came up with a solution based solely on differential calculus and not on some set of prederived formulae indicates my thought structure... or at least I think so...

After all, why rely on tricks and other people's work when it's just as efficient and infinitely more rewarding to do it yourself...

But yes... it's things like this that earn me the title of "freak boy" amongst my compatriots...

Anyway... that was the highlight of my day...

Sad, isn't it?

It's a shame I still feel worthless, even after proving my usefulness many, many times throughout the course of the day...

I'm tired.

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host