Phys(ics)Geek

"Don't make me bust out my math skills on ya punk asses too..."
08.06.04 - 10:15 PM

I about gave my computer a coniption today... I am in the process of assembling all my data to move onto my new laptop, and to do this I need to do some tasks on my desktop (the windows one... I'm not messing with anything on the linux box because that's just a bunch of server crap anyway)...

So today, I not only ran a full comprehensive virus scan, I also ran spybot and AdAware at the same time...

Then I assembled all of my files (minus the mp3's) into a huge 3.5 GB zip archive... which I then burned to DVD...

And, as if that wasn't enough... now I'm compressing the multitudes of mp3's that I have into zip archive to place on the network... and when I get the new machine, I'll update windows, install and run antivirus software, copy my documents onto the hard drive, and as I download the massive zip archive full of music, I'll install all the software I need to...

So, if things go according to plan, I'll have the laptop home by ten am on the tenth, and have everything up and running by one... at which point I'll begin installing linux on it...

Luckily, I just did my setup of dual-boot on my windows box not a month ago, so I have the DVD I burned with all of the data/apps I need for linux... and, thanks to the powers of shell scripting, I'll code a quick script to do all my installation tasks for me... all I have to do is install the distro [I chose Slackware 10, because the news on the net is that it's the cleanest to install on hp laptops], then pop my DVD in and execute my shell script...

So, I am hoping that by, say five o'clock next Tuesday, the laptop will be golden and ready to code...

My word... I'm such a g33k!

Do I make you horny baby? Do I?

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host