Phys(ics)Geek

"Why do we act like this?"
08.24.04 - 6:14 PM

I pose to you a question...

Recently, a rather large mercury spill (and LN2, though that was less of a problem than we though) occurred in a laboratory storage facility which I am responsible for. Now, the proper people were alerted, and everything was fine. The problem is this: there are two doors into the storage room, one that leads to the central corridor that is very rarely used, and one the leads into the principal introductory physics lab. I was told to place a sign on the door to the lab that read "WARNING! EXPERIMENT IN PROGRESS, DO NOT ENTER!" to keep the janitors out.

I placed the sign on the door as per my instructions.

Apparently, the janitor used the wrong door.

A lot of mercury was swept up and just thrown away...

Can anyone say "EPA Violation"???

My question to you: am I to blame? I mean, I'm not all that worried, it's just that Dr. A is on vacation (he returns tomorrow) and he's going to have to decide what we do...

I don't think I am to blame... I just followed orders.

Yup yup.

It's a major EPA violation I think... but... that's not my problem...

Feeling:
Listening To:

previous - older - next | email - guestbook - host